Convert group messages to private channels

plans-img Available on all plans

deployment-img Cloud and self-hosted deployments

From Mattermost v9.1, you can change the members of your group conversation by converting the group message to a private channel. When a group message is converted to private, its history and membership are preserved. Membership in a private channel remains as invitation only.

Note

  • Any member of an existing group message, except guests, can convert that group message to a private channel.

  • Conversation history will be visible to all channel members.

  • All group message participants must share at least one team membership.

  1. Select the group message name at the top of the center pane to access the drop-down menu, then select Convert to Private Channel.

  2. Specify the team where the new private channel will be created. You’re prompted to specify a team when all group message members share more than one team membership.

  3. Enter a channel name.

  4. Select Convert to private channel.