Set message priority (Beta)#

plans-img Available on all plans

deployment-img Cloud and self-hosted deployments

From Mattermost v7.7 and version v2.4 of the Mattermost mobile app, you can add a message priority label to root messages to make important messages requiring timely action or response more visible and less likely to be overlooked.

Ensure important and urgent messages stand out clearly by adding priority labels to root messages.

To set the priority of a new root message:

  1. Select the Message Priority Select the Priority icon to mark new messages as important or urgent before sending them. icon in the message formatting toolbar. Select from Standard, Important, or Urgent.

  2. Select the priority for the message. Messages have a standard priority by default.

  3. Select Apply

When you send a priority message, the priority label displays next to your name in the channel, as well as the Threads view when others reply to the thread.

Send persistent notifications#

Note

plans-img-yellow Available only on Enterprise and Professional plans

From Mattermost v8.0, when you add an urgent priority label, and your message @mentions at least one other user, Mattermost Professional or Enterprise customers can enable persistent notifications which notify recipients at regular intervals and for a set amount of time until the recipient acknowledges, reacts, or replies to the message.

To enable persistent notifications for a message:

  1. Compose a root message with at least one @mention.

  2. Select the Message Priority Select the Priority icon to mark new messages as important or urgent before sending them. icon in the message formatting toolbar.

  3. Select Urgent.

  4. Select Send persistent notifications.

  5. Select Apply.

Note

  • @channel, @all and @here mentions don’t send persistent notifications.

  • System admins can customize the maximum number of @mentions permitted, how frequently and how many persistent notifications are sent, as well as disable persistent notifications for all users, if preferred. By default, users are notified every 5 minutes for a total of 30 minutes. See the configuration documentation for details.

Receive persistent notifications#

You must have desktop and/or mobile push notifications enabled to receive persistent notifications. How you’re notified depends on your notifications preferences for desktop and mobile push notifications. You won’t be notified when your availability is set to Do Not Disturb, or if you’re Out of Office. Learn more about customizing how you receive notifications by visiting the get notified documentation.

Urgent messages show a red mention badge which remains visibible until you view the message. Selecting the Acknowledge icon (when present) won’t impact the urgent red mention badge.

Example of the channel sidebar with both regular and urgent unread messages.

To stop receiving persistent notifications, you can reply to the thread, select the Acknowlege icon (when present), or react to the thread with an emoji. Persistent notifications also stop if the original message is deleted, or if the maximum number of persistent notifications are sent.

Request acknowledgements#

Note

plans-img-yellow Available only on Enterprise and Professional plans

Mattermost Professional or Enterprise customers can additionally request that recipients actively acknowledge the message to track that messages have been seen and actioned. By default, marking a message as Urgent priority automatically requests an acknowledgement.

When you request acknowlegement of a message, an Acknowledge Select the Acknowledge button to indicate that you've read it and taken necessary action. button is added below the sent message. You can mark message as acknowledged by selecting the button, and you can hover over the Acknowledged Hover over the Acknowledged icon to see who has read and actioned the message. Select the icon to remove your acknowledgement within five minutes. icon to review who has acknowledged the message.

Tip

  • When you have push notifications enabled on mobile, you’ll be notified every five minutes until you acknowledge or reply to the message.

  • After acknowledging a message, you have up to five minutes to change your mind. Select the Acknowledged Hover over the Acknowledged icon to see who has read and actioned the message. Select the icon to remove your acknowledgement within five minutes. button again to remove your name from the list of acknowledged users.